How to Join - click for details

Sign up for our regular website bulletin

Click here and sign up to receive our regular arts news digest by email



Look here for posts about…


ArtsDevUK Partners

Arts Development UK Insurance Scheme - click for details

  a-n The Artists Information Company - click for details

a-n The Artists Information Company



Voluntary Arts - click for details

A2 – Working in the London Region

 

A2.1 Map of Region

map of region - click to enlarge

click on map to enlarge

 

A2.2 Local Authority Arts Officers

The London region is made up of 32 local authorities and the City of London Corporation, most of which have their own officer or team responsible for arts development. The role and resources of each team vary from one local authority to the next and teams sit within a variety of departments including Leisure, Cultural Services and Environment.

 

A full list of Arts Officer contacts is included below and will be updated regularly:

Authority Officer Name Email address
Barking & Dagenham Michael McCormack michael.mccormack@lbbd.gov.uk
Barking & Dagenham Janice Hunte janice.hunte@lbbd.gov.uk
Barking & Dagenham Neesha Badhan neesha.badhan@lbbd.gov.uk
Barnet Lloyd Gee lloyd.gee@barnet.gov.uk
Bexley Saskia  Delman Saskia.Delman@bexley.gov.uk
Brent Abi Palmer abi.palmer@brent.gov.uk
Brent Vashti Waite vashti.waite@brent.gov.uk
Bromley Mytime Amanda Davis amanda.davis@bromleymytime.org.uk
Bromley Mytime Kieran Hall Kiaran.Hall@bromleymytime.org.uk
Camden Caroline Jenkinson caroline.jenkinson@camden.gov.uk
Camden Chris Mellor chris.mellor@camden.gov.uk
City of London Emma McGovern emma.mcgovern@cityoflondon.gov.uk
City of Westminster Valentina Wong wwong@westminster.gov.uk
Croydon Davina Christmas davina.christmas@croydon.gov.uk
Ealing Helen Walker hwalker@ealing.gov.uk
Enfield Praveen Bahl praveen.bahl@enfield.gov.uk
Enfield Lorraine Cox Lorraine.cox@enfield.gov.uk
Enfield Alexandra Lowe alexandra.lowe@enfield.gov.uk
Greenwich Chris Lea chris.lea@artsgreenwich.org.uk
Greenwich Julian Jonas julian.jonas@artsgreenwich.org.uk
Greenwich Tracey Sage tracey.sage@artsgreenwich.org.uk
Hackney Ceryl Evans ceryl.evans@hackney.gov.uk
Hackney Carole Stewart carole.stewart@hackney.gov.uk
Hackney Sandra Collins sandra.collins@hackney.gov.uk
Hackney Fiona Talbott fiona.talbott@hackney.gov.uk
Hackney Petra Roberts Petra.Roberts@Hackney.gov.uk
Hammersmith & Fulham Adeen Ashton Adeen.Ashton@lbhf.gov.uk
Haringey Martin Charter martin.charter@haringey.gov.uk
Harrow Jo Saunders jo.saunders@harrow.gov.uk
Harrow Stephen Porter stephen.porter@harrow.gov.uk
Havering Jo Delaney jo.delaney@havering.gov.uk
Hillingdon Kris Holliday kholliday@hillingdongrid.org
Hounslow Melanie Atterbury Melanie.atterbury@cip.org.uk
Hounslow Alec Kennedy alec.kennedy@cip.org.uk
Islington Pete Courtie peter.courtie@islington.gov.uk
Kensington & Chelsea Samenua Sesher samenua.sesher@rbkc.gov.uk
Kensington & Chelsea Rebecca Pelly-Fry rebecca.pelly-fry@rbkc.gov.uk
Kensington & Chelsea Miriam Nelken miriam.nelken@rbkc.gov.uk
Kingston-Upon-Thames Colin Bloxham colin.bloxham@rbk.kingston.gov.uk
Kingston-Upon-Thames Kathryn Woodvine kathryn.woodvine@rbk.kingston.gov.uk
Lambeth Catherine Miller-Bassi CMiller-Bassi@lambeth.gov.uk
Lambeth Dawn Bunce dbunce@lambeth.gov.uk
Lewisham Liz Dart liz.dart@lewisham.gov.uk
Lewisham Carmel Langstaff carmel.langstaff@lewisham.gov.uk
Lewisham Cheryl  Brown cheryl.brown@lewisham.gov.uk
Lewisham Hilary Renwick hilary.renwick@lewisham.gov.uk
Merton Maureen Pepper maureen.pepper@merton.gov.uk
Merton Emily MillerAsh Akhtar emily.miller@merton.gov.ukash.akhtar@merton.gov.uk
Newham David Curtis david.curtis@newham.gov.uk
Newham Kate Waterfield kate.waterfield@newham.gov.uk
Newham Louise  Venn louise.venn@newham.gov.uk
Redbridge Jacqueline Eggleston jacqueline.eggleston@redbridge.gov.uk
Redbridge Anita Verma anita.verma@redbridge.gov.uk
Redbridge Mark Etherington mark.etherington@redbridge.gov.uk
Richmond Upon Thames Rachel Tranter artsinfo@richmond.gov.uk
Richmond Upon Thames Adam Coleman a.coleman@richmond.gov.uk
Richmond Upon Thames Sarah Hinsley s.hinsley@richmond.gov.uk
Southwark Anya Whitehead anya.whitehead@southwark.gov.uk
Southwark Coral Flood coral.flood@southwark.gov.uk
Sutton Victoria Nunn victoria.nunn@sutton.gov.uk
Sutton Elina Harlas elina.harlas@sutton.gov.uk
Sutton Mark Fisher mark.fisher@sutton.gov.uk
Sutton Iqbal Husain iqbal.husain@sutton.gov.uk
Tower Hamlets Alison Denning alison.denning@towerhamlets.gov.uk
Tower Hamlets Stephen Murray stephen.murray@towerhamlets.gov.uk
Tower Hamlets Kazi Begum kazi.begum@towerhamlets.gov.uk
Tower Hamlets Steve Murray stephen.murray@towerhamlets.gov.uk
Tower Hamlets Nick Green nick.green@towerhamlets.gov.uk
Waltham Forest Eamonn O’Machail eamon.omachail@lbwf.gov.uk
Waltham Forest Sue Brown sue.brown@lbwf.gov.uk
Waltham Forest Rik Richardson rik.richardson@lbwf.gov.uk
Waltham Forest Glen Watson glen.watson@lbwf.gov.uk
Wandsworth Helen Renwick HRenwick@wandsworth.gov.uk
Wandsworth Matt Stringer mstringer@wandsworth.gov.uk
Westminster Charlotte Fergusson cfergusson@westminster.gov.uk

As well as supporting arts development within their own individual boroughs, Arts Officers work sub-regionally on joint projects. These sub-regional partnership groups are based on the Mayor of London’s ‘London Plan’ and the boundaries are permeable. For example, the City of London works with both the Central and Eastern sub-regional groups, whilst the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea works with both the Central and Western boroughs. Each sub-regional group is working in a different way, on a range of projects, responding to identified shared priorities.

 

Partnership work is also taking place around the regeneration of the Thames Gateway, and across London for the cultural offer and legacy of the 2012 Olympics.

A2.3 Other London agencies

Acme
www.acme.org.uk
London-based charity that supports fine arts practice by providing artists with low-cost studio and living space. Advises artists on all aspects of property negotiation, conversion and management and provides consultancy on studio provision to a wide range of organisations.

Artsadmin
www.artsadmin.co.uk
Provides a comprehensive management and production resource to interdisciplinary artists and companies, as well as running a bursary and mentoring scheme, free artists’ advisory service, residencies and showcases.

Arts Forum London
www.artsforumlondon.info
On-line home for local authority arts officers and Councillors to share information, knowledge and ideas in support of arts development in London. Supports the work of the London Local Authority Arts Network and the London Local Authority Arts Forum (detailed in section A2.5).

Association of London Government (ALG)
www.alg.gov.uk
Represents the 33 local authorities in London by providing a single voice to central government and lobbying for better resources for the capital. Distributes grants to voluntary groups across the capital, including arts organisations.

Audiences London
www.audienceslondon.org
Development agency working across London and all artforms, helping organisations build their audience base through research, networking and collaborative projects.

CIDA
www.cida.co.uk
Creative and cultural industries support agency in East London.

Continental Drifts
www.continentaldrifts.co.uk
Provides performing and promotional opportunities for a broad range of bands and artists at major festivals, including Glastonbury and Essential. Also provides CD releases and industry showcases.

Creative capital
www.creative-capital.org.uk
Network of arts organisations promoting professional development for artists and arts practitioners who live and work in London.

Creative Space Agency
www.creativespaceagency.co.uk
Helps artists, cultural organisations and businesses to identify potential spaces in London to work, exhibit, perform, rehearse or meet. Their website will offer a searchable directory where space providers can register and artists can search for available space.

East London Dance
www.eastlondondance.org
Dance development agency involving artists in the communities of the outer east London boroughs. Commissions new work, promotes performances and festivals and runs workshops and training courses.

Emerge
www.emergelondon.co.uk
Visual arts focussed partnership for the neighbouring boroughs of Barnet, Brent, Enfield, Haringey and Harrow. Shares resources and knowledge to meet the development needs of emerging artists and artist groups in North London.

Film London
www.filmlondon.org.uk
Strategic agency for film and media in London, promoting and developing London as a major international centre for film-making.

Four Greens
www.creative-london-north.com/fourgreens.php
Cross-sector network of agencies and organisations supporting the arts and creative industries in North London.

Greater London Authority
www.london.gov.uk
Democratically elected strategic authority made up of the Mayor of London  and the London Assembly. The Mayor has an executive role, setting an   overall vision for London and defining city-wide strategies, including culture. The Assembly scrutinises the Mayor’s activities and can make proposals to the Mayor about issues of importance to Londoners.

Greenwich Dance Agency
www.greenwichdance.org.uk
Offers a range of opportunities and support for professional dance artists.

Independent Street Arts Network (ISAN)
www.streetartsnetwork.org.uk
Group of presenters and promoters of street arts throughout the UK working to develop the artform through networking, information sharing, collaboration, lobbying and training.

Independent Theatre Council (ITC)
www.itc-arts.org
Managers’ association and main representative body for middle and small-scale performing arts organisations. Services include advocacy, legal advice, industrial relations and networking. Interchange Trust Legal Advisory Service
www.interchange.org.uk
Low-cost legal advisory service for arts organisations and the voluntary sector.

Jazz Services
www.jazzservices.org.uk
National organisation for supporting and developing jazz through touring, information provision and education projects.

Live Art Development Agency
www.thisisliveart.co.uk
Internationally renowned strategic agency for live art, offering a range of services for artists and organisations in London including information, advice and opportunities for debate, research and training.

London Open House
www.londonopenhouse.org
London-wide scheme to open buildings of architectural interest to the public, the focus of which is the Open House weekend event each September. Also runs a year-round programme of public events designed to explore and explain London’s built environment.

Museums, Libraries and Archives and Libraries London
www.mlalondon.org.uk
Strategic development agency for museums, libraries and archives in the region.

Music Matrix
www.music-matrix.org
Agency offering consultancy, PR, marketing, professional development and administrative support services to the music industry. Also provides networking links to the commercial music sector and develops partnerships with major music industry trade bodies.

Notting Hill Mas Bands Association
www.nhmba.com
Represents and promotes the activities of the Mas bands that take part in the Notting Hill Carnival by providing support, advice and training. Also undertakes strategic projects on behalf of its members in order promote the traditions of the Caribbean in the UK.

The Place Artist Development
www.theplace.org.uk/?lid=68
Subscription service providing support and professional development for independent professional dance artists.

Total Theatre Network
www.totaltheatre.org.uk
A leading body for physical and visual performance, providing information and access to the sector, developing audiences and encouraging personal and professional development.

Visit London
www.visitlondon.com
The official visitor organisation for the capital, marketing to domestic and overseas leisure and business visitors, as well as Londoners.

Western Wedge Sub-regional group
www.wlaculturaloffer2012.org
Sub-regional arts partnership made up local authority arts officers and managers from Brent, Ealing, Hammersmith & Fulham, Harrow, Hillingdon and Hounslow. Meets regularly to share best practice and oversee partnership work in their sub-region.

Writernet
www.writernet.co.uk
Provides dramatic writers with a range of career support.

Youth Music
www.youthmusic.org.uk
Provides funding and advocacy for music provision for young people.

Studio Festi performance
Studio Festi performing The Dancing Sky at the Greenwich and Docklands International Festival 2006. Image: Alastair Muir.

A2.4 Regional Arts Development UK

AD:uk has two Regional Coodinators representing London:

  • Chris Gibbon, Senior Consultant at BOP Consulting (chris@bop.co.uk).
  • Gina Gillam, Theatre & Arts Manager at the London Borough of Sutton (Gina.gillam@sutton.gov.uk).

A2.5 Arts Council England, London

Arts Council England’s London office works in partnership with local authorities on a regional, sub-regional and borough-by-borough basis in order to:

  • build the profile of the arts within boroughs and help secure political commitment.
  • support local authority arts officers and help foster cross departmental working within boroughs.
  • demonstrate how arts can help deliver local priorities.
  • promote inclusion and vibrant communities.
  • encourage cultural infrastructure within major regeneration projects
    (eg Thames Gateway, King’s Cross, Wembley).
  • ensure a strong cultural offer and legacy from London 2012.
  • support continuous improvement of London boroughs’ arts provision.

The Resource Development team leads this work and runs two parallel pan-London groups for local authorities to share information and oversee partnership working. These are the London Local Authority Arts Network (for Arts Officers) and the London Local Authority Arts Forum (for Councillors). For more information about either of these groups please email bethan.evans@artscouncil.org.uk or phone 0207 608 6185.

Each officer in the Resource Development team has responsibility for links with particular local authorities, depending on their location:

A2.6 Linking with London based artists & creative industry networks

Each local authority will have information about artists and arts organisations based in their borough. The following websites may also be useful:

www.theseer.info
Free online directory and resource for creative individuals and organisations in London. This website is currently being rolled out across London and 11 local authorities have joined so far.

www.lonsas.org.uk
London Schools Arts Service (LONSAS) website, match-making teachers and artists and offering practical information, support, news and advice to help promote creativity throughout the curriculum. LONSAS can also process Criminal Records Bureau checks for those working with young people.